2010-06-01 16:42:00

Russian Church gets 18 new parishes in Britain and Ireland

St. Petersburg, June 1, Interfax - The Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church joined 18 new parishes to the Dioceses of Sourozh of Britain and Ireland at its meeting in St. Petersburg on Monday.

Four of the new parishes are in Scotland - in Glasgow, Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Dundee.

Eleven others are in different parts of Britain, including North Humberside, Devon, Hampshire, Essex, Tyne and Wear, West Midlands, East Sussex and Dorset.

There is an Orthodox parish in Belfast and another in the Isle of Man.

Three more Orthodox parishes are in Ireland - in Watford, Galway and Cork.